Gluten Free Jam Cake

A few months ago I wasn’t feeling too well and my doctor told me I could have gluten sensitivity. I followed a strict gluten free diet for 45 days: it wasn’t easy at first  -I’m SO used to eat bread, wheat pasta, pizza and so on, and I discovered that gluten is in a huge variety of food (and drugs, much like lactose unfortunately).

Luckily for me, I’m now sure I’m not gluten sensitive, but this experience gave me a little insight of what it’s like to be affected by this disorder. I’m lactose intolerant, so it was difficult to find both lactose and gluten free cookies at the grocery store for example. Also, gluten free products are really expensive here in Italy! Despite my temporary self-deprivation of food I really like, it was an opportunty to learn about how flours work and how they can react to certain ingredients or different proportions. It might sounds silly, but it never occurred to me I could bake using other flours different from the white, coconut and almond ones! So I experimented and cooked a lot during that time and the cake I’m about to show you is a successful gluten free (and lactose free!) adaptation of a recipe I love.

Gluten free homemade cake with vintage camera and flowers on wooden table

This jam cake is very nutritious (due to the buckwheat flour) but also sweet and comforting, perfect for breakfast or for a tea break in the afternoon. It’s not gritty as you could expect from the rice flour, but very moist and soft. I used peach jam (it suits well the lemon taste in my opinion), but you can use any jam of your choice. Scroll down for this super easy recipe and more pictures!

Ingredients:

  • 125 g rice flour
  • 50 g buckwheat flour
  • 25 g potato starch
  • 200 g white sugar
  • 12 g yeast
  • 75 g oilseed
  • 25 g water
  • 2 large fresh eggs
  • half fresh lemon juice 
  • powdered sugar

Gluten free homemade cake with vintage camera and flowers on wooden table

Let’s bake!

  1. Mix eggs and sugar in a bowl with an electric whisk until they’re well blended.
  2. Add to the mixture: rice flour, buckwheat flour, potato starch, yest, oilseed and water. Blend well.
  3. Then add half fresh lemon juice and blend again briefly until you have a smooth mixture.
  4. Cover a cake pan with butter (or greaseproof paper) and pour the mixture into it.
  5. Bake in preheated oven at 170 C for about 45 minutes (cooking times may vary slightly, depending on your oven)
  6. Allow the cake to cool, then cut it in a half horizontally and fill it with the jam of your choice. Lastly, dust it with powdering sugar.

Gluten free homemade cake with vintage camera and flowers on wooden table

Buon Appetito!

You can follow me at:

 All the images posted on my blog are under my copyright, please don’t use/redistribute my works without my permission.

Salva

Salva

Salva

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Jam Cake

Any Thoughts?